Summer School on Institutions, Justice, Democracy
Monday, 15 June 2015

Summer School on Institutions, Justice, Democracy

This will be the final Summer School of the network. It will take place in Istanbul on June 15-20, 2015, and will include a series of classes on institutional theory, political theories of deliberation and justice, as well as grounded theory on ecological justice. The training will consist of a mixture of research presentations, roundtables and discussions between speakers and fellows.

Invited speakers include, amongst others, Jason W. Moore, Ashish Kothari, Amita Baviskar, Catherine Gibson, Derek Wall, Stavros Stavrides, Ayfer Bartu Candan, as well as various scholars and activists from within and around Turkey.

The School also includes a fieltrip to visit mega-infrastructure projects in Istanbul together with local activists and later on a visit to the Kazova Textile factory to see their “project of production without a boss”. On Friday an event open to the general public will be organized. 


 Download the program to see the list of speakers and topics covered during the summer school.


Public Events

Rojava Experience with Radical Democracy

(İngilizce ceviri ile)
Tuesday, June 16
Time: 16.30 
Location: Ibrahim Bodur Auditorium, Boğaziçi University
Speakers: Abdusalam Ahmad (Co-chair, the Movement for a Democratic Society (TEV-DEM)) Armela Haj Kasem (Diplomatic Representative, the Movement for a Democratic Society (TEV-DEM))

Moderator: Abbas Vali (Boğaziçi University)


Click to download the poster 

Türkiye’de Çevre Hareketleri ve Demokrasi

(İngilizce çeviri ile) 
Perşembe, Haziran 18
Saat: 14.30 
Yer: Ibrahim Bodur Auditorium, Boğaziçi Üniversitesi 
Cemil Aksu (BirYaşam Derneği) Şengün Şahin (Yeşil Gerze Hareketi) Bengi Akbulut (Araştırmacı) Emre Baturay Altınok (ÇEHAV/Ekoloji Kolektifi) 
Moderatör: Ali Kerem Saysel (Boğaziçi Üniversitesi)


Click to download poster

Degrowth: Vocabulary for a New Era

Friday, June 19
Time: 16.30
Location: Albert Long Hall, Boğaziçi University
Speakers: Giorgos Kallis (ICTA-UAB and SOAS) Ashish Kothari (Kalpavriksh) Amita Baviskar (Institute of Economic Growth)


Click to download poster